Thursday's Thoughts

“I am too young…”

“Alas, Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.” (Jer 1:6)

Have you ever said that?

“I am too young…”

Too young to work, too young to say anything of importance, too young to help?

Let me tell you a story; let me prove to you that age doesn’t matter anything:

In August of 2010, the Ugandan Orphan Children’s Choir came to the church of young Mallory Fundora. She played with the children, hugged them, and grew fond of them.

One year later, she sat at the task of writing her Christmas wish list. Looking around her room, she came to realize that there was nothing she needed, nothing she wanted. But thinking of the children of Uganda, who would never have Christmas presents and yet had so much they needed, she made a decision.

Her parents were surely surprised after reading Mallory’s wish list, which consisted of only one point: to help Africa. Nevertheless, they sat down with her and talked about how she could achieve her wish. Mallory contacted Amazima Ministries and Project Have Hope and asked them what she could do to help them. She started “Project Yesu“, told people about it and started a blog to reach even more people. By the time Christmas came that year – after barely three months – she had raised enough money to sponsor seven children.

By the time Christmas came that year, she was eleven years old.

 

But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord. (Jer 1:7-8)

 

Don’t say you’re too young! God will perform miracles when we put ourselves into His service.

 

“My goals at first were simple, but my dream was big. You know what happens when you give God your dreams? He takes them and makes them bigger than you could ever have imagined.” (Mallory Fundora)

One thought on ““I am too young…”

Leave a Reply

