Saturday's Song

“Sometimes you gotta stand apart from the crowd”

This last week, I’ve been listening a lot to a very inspiring, strong and beautiful woman of God: Mandisa.

Mandisa is a singer/songwriter who talks very honestly and openly about going through difficult stages of her life. Her songs are encouraging and simultaneously challenging.

“Born for this” is a song she wrote for the project “Music inspired by The Story”, which is a compilation album of various Christian artists inspired by scripture – in this case, the story of Esther.

I love this song because it is so up-to-date, even though it’s about a story from three thousand years ago. It’s about speaking up for what you know is right, even if others may not like it.

I personally don’t have a big problem with that – at least most of the time. But I, too, still have to work on not bothering too much about what other people may think of me, and instead live my life for Jesus.

 

Born For This

Feels like I’ve been holding my breath,
trying to still my restless heart
Everything hangs on my next step,
finding my nerve, playing my part
I found shelter underneath His crown,
found favor inside His eyes
Rock this boat, and I just might drown,
honesty seems to come with a price
There’s a time to hold your tongue,
time to keep your head down
There’s a time but it’s not now

Sometimes you gotta go, uninvited
Sometimes you gotta speak when you don’t have the floor
Sometimes you gotta move,
when everybody else says you should stay
No way, no, not today
You gotta ask, if you want an answer
Sometimes you gotta stand apart from the crowd
Long before your heart could run the risk
You were born for this

I’m leaning on the ones before me,
my father’s father’s dreams
I’m standing on the top of their shoulders
calling the One delivering me
There’s a time to hold your tongue,
time to keep your head down
There’s a time but it’s not now

One step, one move.
Born to trust You.
Made to lay my
Life before You

Sometimes you gotta go, uninvited
Sometimes you gotta speak when you don’t have the floor
Sometimes you gotta move,
when everybody else says you should stay
No way, no, not today
You gotta ask, if you want an answer
Sometimes you gotta stand apart from the crowd
Long before your heart could run the risk
You were born for this

Leave a Reply

