Thursday's Thoughts

A bible on my lap

You see, school’s almost over.

But still the curriculum bugs us: “You forgot to go through these topics, and you still have to do this presentation… oh, and do you remember that test?”

In this case, we had to give a presentation in groups of six. We had two hours in school and in case that wasn’t enough, we had to finish it at home.

It wasn’t enough – not nearly.

And because of this unbelievable motivation every student has one week before summer holidays, we still had almost everything to do the evening before the actual presentation. (Hint: this is NOT exemplary!)

So there it was: Sunday. Late evening. Laptop. Half a dozen Word documents of notes. Mobile phone. Emergency session on Whatsapp.

And a bible on my lap.

And no, this is not something I usually have on my lap while stressing myself out over a presentation I have to give the next day.

But I was working on the project I told you about on Sunday (Mission “Bible Verse Memorization”), looking up and writing down one verse from each book of the bible (using this plan). And I could do this while waiting on the next update from my classmates.

It was 10 o’clock when we started – I usually go to bed around then. A half-hour passed, another, and yet another… It was half past 12 when we were finally done.

But through all this time, I felt strangely calm. I didn’t stress myself out – which is, as I already said, my usual reaction to situations like this.

Reading the bible gave me peace. It made me feel calm and even relaxed. And this wasn’t the first time I’d experienced this effect.

Whenever I feel stressed, downhearted or bad-tempered, I try to pull out my bible. And I want to encourage you to do the same!

One thought on “A bible on my lap

Leave a Reply

